Sudha Murthy, Shankar Mahadevan on NCERT’s Panel to Develop News Textbooks



Last Updated:


As per offical sources, Sudha Murthy, the Chairperson of the Infosys Foundation, musician Shankar Mahadevan, economist Sanjeev Sanyal, and 16 other individuals are part of a new committee formed by the National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT) to revise textbooks according to a new curriculum. This 19-member National Curriculum and Pedagogy Committee (NCPC) will be chaired by M.C. Pant, the Chancellor of the National Institute of Educational Planning and Administration (NIEPA), and will develop textbooks for classes 3 to 12.

Also Read: National Medical Commission (NMC) Issues Notice for Indian Students Seeking Admission in Foreign Medical Programs

A senior official mentioned that the committee has been tasked with preparing textbooks and other teaching materials, which will be published and used by the National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT) based on the terms of reference.

“The NCPC will work with subject area groups (SAGs) for the development of teaching-learning materials for each curricular area. These groups will include relevant experts in the respective subjects, and their formation will be carried out by the chair and co-chair. With the assistance of NCERT, NCERT will align the curriculum with the framework of the National Curriculum Framework (NCF) developed by the operational committee led by Kasturirangan, as a part of the implementation of the National Education Policy (NEP) 2020,” the official stated.

Read Next